Oldhammer and the Tom Meier Zombie Dragon

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

There’s been a bit a noticable dip in my hobby time recently, hence the lack of regular updates. Don’t worry, I intend to waffle extensively today! 🙂

I recently discovered the forum Oldhammer, which is a forum dedicated to all things Warhammer Fantasy Battle 3rd edition.

As I’ve got older I’ve become very picky about which forums I hang out on. I don’t like power gamers, I’m not keen on forums that are run like an old boys club where outsiders are merely tolerated, and I cannot stand forums that promote piracy within the hobby (you know who you are..). So, it was a nice surprise to find out that the members of Oldhammer are a genuinely friendly bunch of enthusiasts and collectors. Because of this I’ve been spending time on the forum and in turn I’ve started to feel the pull toward my WHFB 3rd edition Undead and Dark Elf armies again. Around 2006 I stripped my 80’s Undead army and began the task of repainting it with a view to turning it into both a Vampire Counts army and a Tomb Kings army. During this time I painted around 80% of the army, which was no mean feat considering how many models I’ve got for the army (easily over 250). Unfortunately GW kept fiddling with the Vampire Count army to the point that I lost all interest in the project. The last model I painted was:

Longhorn

I was always pleased with how the bone came out but try as I might his horns never looked right so I kept them plane for the time being.

Anyhow, the Oldhammer forum they run a painting competition, The Golden Gobbo, where we all submit painted WHFB 3rd edition era models. I missed out on the first competition, which had some very strong entries, but the next competition is for Monsters. This has given me the excuse I need to dig out, build, and finally paint my Zombie Dragon. This was the original Tom Meier Zombie Dragon that Citadel sold in the mid ’80s. It’s an understated sculpt, not having to rely on being over the top in terms of gore or pose, and it still really appeals to me some 27(!) years on. That said, coming in four parts, it’s also a reminder at just how badly the very old multi-part Citadel models went together:

After much filing and careful bending of the parts I managed to dry fit the model together:

It’s certainly going to take quite a lot of greenstuffing to sort out!

Comments
  1. Thantsants says:

    Nice looking skellie – looking forward to seeing more of them and the Dark Elves.

    Good luck on that Zombie Dragon – definitely one on my to buy list.

    Lovely Epic stuff too – wish the vehicles and other lead bits weren’t so pricey on ebay as I’d love to resurrect and expand my old collection.

    • bugstomper16 says:

      When I get a few minutes, which is rare at the moment, I’m going to go through my ancient Photobucket account and start to post my WHFB 2nd/3rd edition Undead over at Oldhammer. The intention is to run a WHFB blog over there and keep this blog for Epic and other bits and pieces.

      With ebay, as I’m sure you’re aware, the Buy It Now’s for Epic are easily over double what the items are worth at a standard auction so I tend to avoid them unless somebody is listing something and doesn’t know what they’re worth. E.g. I snagged 25 of the old metal Epic Space Marines for under a tenner and I saw 15 of them go for nearly £20 at auction yesterday, so there are still bargains to be had. 🙂

Leave a Reply

