Inventories and rebasing

Posted: September 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Now that I’m back from my holiday I’ve been spending limited my free time sorting my Epic Ork and Space Marine armies out. This meant actually working out an inventory of what I’ve got for each army and how I can best make the armies work for both Space Marine 2nd edition and EpicA. I already have my Space Marine army worked out for EpicA so retrofitting it for Space Marine 2nd edition was quite easy. I was also pleasantly surprised to discover that I can field every type of SM company, I new my years of hoarding Epic models would pay off! šŸ™‚

Flicking through the Warlords supplement, it was interesting to see just how much character they stripped out of the Ork army when they moved to EpicA. Jervis recognises in the EpicA rulebook that “some players don’t like this abstraction” and you can put me in the “don’t like” camp. I completely understand the whole “Orks are now a barbaric horde” army thing but I’m really not keen on it. Even so I’ve got enough models for either four Clans of Orks which is enough for over three ‘Uge formations in EpicA. Clan wise I’m aiming to get a few more Orks so that I can cover all of the six Clans. I’m not massively keen on GW’s prices for their Epic ranges so I’ll keep scouring ebay.

Because of all the above I’ve spent a fascinating two days rebasing Epic Ork and Epic Space Marine models from their oldschool square bases and onto the current skirmish strip bases because I’ve never been a fan of the old square bases and I really like the look of the current bases. There were a few casualties along the way, a small number of Assault Marines snapping at the knee, but I was expecting worse and they can always be carefully glued back together.

Having glued all of my infantry onto bases I was facing the issue of how I was going to store them. For 6mm plastic infantry the thought of buying cases with foam trays is a bit of an overkill imo. Instead I’ve used the below plastic case that’s designed for drill bits, nails, screws and the like that I refound when rummaging through the garage:

Open

Closed

I bought it in a long gone pound shop for, surprisingly, one pound. Currently I’ve only put painted models into it but it should cope with all of my infantry models given that there’s storage on both sides. The unpainted models are sat in separate boxes counting down the years until they’re eventually painted.

Leave a Reply

