My wargaming hobby has taken a bit of a back seat recently as real life has taken over with fun chores like grouting and resealing the shower room. Even so I’ve been squeezing bits in as and when I can in a slightly random manner.

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that I had a lot of the old Citadel Judge Dredd figures to strip and I’ve been busy stripping said miniatures. I wasn’t hugely surprised to discover that twenty six years ago(!) I never bothered doing things like removing flash from the models, filing unsightly mold lines or even bothering toย undercoat my figures. Back then I was all about slapping the paint on and getting them on the gaming table as fast as I could! Ah fun times. ๐Ÿ™‚

Below are about half of the figures. Unfortunately a few of them were broken so I’ve had to do some repair work to them.

Anyway, this got me thinking about mentioning how I strip my figures. After years of trying various things out the quickest and cheapest way to strip figures is using Superdrug Acetone free nail polish remover. I can already hear some of you tutting that I should be using Biostrip, Dettol or Brake Fluid but I like to strip figures quickly and easily using something that’s not a problem to dispose of once used. I’ve used Superdrugs Acetone free nail polish remover with no ill effect on my metal, plastic, and resin models.

You’ll notice that some of the figures above still have quite a bit of paint on them. Those are the ones that were painted with very thick Humbrol enamel paint rather than acrylic paint.

I’ve also started to paint my Mark 1 Imperial Guard Hellhounds. They’re ugly looking models and I’m not overly fond of them as they’re another blocky looking vehicle.

Comments
  1. Sithdevil says:

    Thanks for the tips, I’ve got an old Space Marine army that I have to strip paint off so I’ll try it out on a few and see how it goes ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • bugstomper16 says:

      I stripped loads of RTB01 Space Marines and vehicles this way.

      Just a few things to bear in mind:

      1. When you pop to Superdrug and buy four or so bottles of Nail Polish Remover expect an odd look from the female sales assistant. When queried I’ve always jokingly said I sniff it as it’s cheaper than beer and gives a better result. Results may vary. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      2. Work out how many models you’re intending to strip. If I do more than 20 in one go I get bored scrubbing them (more on this in a bit).

      3. Only use the solution in a very well ventilated room because this stuff stinks.

      4. Pour however much you need into a plastic container that has a sealable lid.

      5. Drop the figures you want to strip into the solution and put the lid on the container.

      6. Wait about 30 seconds.

      7. Put rubber gloves on your hands (I use cheapo surgical ones) and remove one figure.

      8. Wash the figure under a cold tap and using a cheap nail brush or old toothbrush scrub the figure.

      9. If the figure needs a bit more time in the solution them dunk it back in.

      I find that the solution stops working after 20 minutes and I get the best results loading a container up with figures rather than dunking a few, then dunking a few more.

      I tend to find that the paint either literally drops off the figures in one go or it needs an enthusiastic scrub. Sometimes, once I’ve washed the figure and got all of the paint off that I can, I might need to pick the still bendy paint out of recesses with an old craft knife. Worst case I’ll strip the figure a second time with fresh solution.

      What amazes me is that there are figures I think “Uh-oh this is going to be a right pain to strip” because it’s been varnished or covered in layers of thick paint and it strips in 10 seconds and the figures I think will be a doddle to strip take a decent scrub.

      The most times I’ve put a plastic figure into the solution as four separate batches for a couple of minutes in each batch. The only noticable side effect was that the plastic looked slightly bleeched in colour.

      Have fun! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

