Painting Beastmen

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I was recently really stuck with how to paint my Beastman Company. Given how many stands make up a Beastman Company (32) and that this company isn’t used beyond 2nd edition Space Marine I wanted something that would both look good but also be reasonably quick to achieve. The end result is:

I was originally intending to paint their horns a different colour to the rest of their bodies but I couldn’t find anything that worked and I actually quite like them being the same colour as the bodies. You’ll also notice that I haven’t painted the arm armour on the Beastmen, I’m still in two minds as to whether or not I will because I don’t paint every single tiny detail on 6mm infantry (I’m not that masochistic) and I’m not sure that it really matters. We’ll see, I’ve got another 31 stands of Beastmen infantry to paint!

So, how do I paint them?

Stage 1 – Vallejo Leather Brown basecoat

Stage 2 – GW Ogryn Flesh Wash

Stage 3 – GW Chaos Black on weapons, armour and hooves

Stage 4 – Vallejo Gun Metal Grey on weapons and armour

Stage 5 – GW Badab Black Wash on weapons and armour

Stage 6 – Vallejo Sombre Grey on clothing followed by GW Badab Black Wash on clothing

Finally.. based!

Leave a Reply

