These might be the ugliest sculpts GW ever did for this game system but they painted up very quickly. I can kindof get what they were trying to do with this sculpt, an assault gun with a flat ablative armour look, but it makes the sculpt look very flat and uninteresting.

Imperial Guard Vindicator Company

Given that I’m not keen on this model why on earth did I use it over the original Mark 1 Vindicator sculpt? Good question! I did it because I wanted my Imperial Guard Vindicators to look different to my Space Marine Vindicators. I’m not 100% convinced it was the right decision but it’s bit late now. You’ll notice that the command Vindicator has a miscast main gun, I didn’t realise this when I bought it off ebay because it was covered in really thick paint, and I only discovered the problem when the tank was stripped of about 3mm of paint (seriously!). I did try to repair this but was unsuccessful. At least I can tell which is the command tank without the need to paint it differently.

Speaking of which I did think about putting some Imperial Guard transfers on top of the tanks using the old Space Marine V2 era Imperial Guard transfers but they just looked wrong, they made the tanks look more like toys than the paint job suggests.

I’ve finally managed to glue both my Imperial Guard Heavy and Beastmen Companies together. No photos as I realise lots of unpainted figures isn’t that exciting to look at. The intention is to paint my Heavy Company next.

Sphere Hobby Products Vallejo Paint Rack

In other news I finally treated myself to a lasercut paint rack for my Vallejo paints, bought from the ebay store Sphere-Hobby-Products:

Delivery was swift and it’s a great product but it’s not without a couple of issues. The smell from the laser cutting is very strong, considerably stronger than laser cut MDF figure bases I’ve bulk bought (if you don’t know what it smells like it makes your hobby room smell like somebody’s been burning charcoal in it), it took about a week for it to subside. I was slightly disappointed that when built it leans slightly to one side, I tried various configurations to remove the lean but try as I might I couldn’t get it 100%. I suspect that most people won’t notice or be bothered by it but it sits on a shelf taunting me everytime I look at it. So, would I recommend the product? Yes, actually, I would. The design is neat and once I’ve sorted my paints into some sort of order it’ll save me rummaging around a box trying to find the paint I’m after without knocking other paints over.

Leave a comment