Original Imperial Guard plastics

Posted: February 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Many years ago I bought the original Imperial Guard plastic boxed set for Space Marine 1st edition that I bought on a whim whilst on holiday in York. At the time I didn’t realise what a bargain buy it would turn out to be for a mere £8. Later on I inherited some more sprues from a wargamer who’s wife was making him give up wargaming, I can only hope he’s now happily divorced and wargaming again. 😉

Where is this ramble going? Good question! An idea popped into my head on Sunday evening that means instead of me just painting every Space Marine era model I own I’ve decided to see if I can paint every single company, plus various support models that aren’t available as companies, and collect enough figures to be able to deploy every company at the same time. Why? Because I think it’ll be fun to do.

So, this has resulted in some serious head scratching as I worked out how many of the original plastic figures I’ve got and how many I’d need to hunt down on ebay. The result is that the only companies I don’t have enough figures for to deploy completely are:

Beastmen – I need another 20 stands of Beastmen. Not good. Moreso when I remember selling 20 stands of Beastmen on ebay for a pittance a number of years ago because they never got used. Note to self: Don’t sell any of my epic figures/tanks/whatever ever!

Hellbore – I still need the Hellbore model, it’s the only model from this era that I’ve not got hold of yet, and another 30 stands of infantry. This is going to be one expensive company to put together!

Moles – I need another two moles and even more infantry.

Ironically these are all of the companies that were seen as being ineffective for their points, I can’t remember anybody ever using them.

In terms of support I need four more Tarantulas and one more Rapier. I’m going to have to think of an easy way to convert the plastic Landspeeder models into IG ones because I don’t like the models having Space Marines piloting them.

The only thing I don’t know is how either the Bike Company or Robot Support are made up because these cards have long since escaped my Armies of the Imperium box. I’m guessing that the Bike company is 15 bikes plus 1 Rhino with 2 command stands but I haven’t got a clue if Robots are fielded in four stands or five. I’ve got more than enough metal and plastic robots to field far more than I’d ever use so I’ll paint 20 of the metal ones which allows for four or five units.

Leave a Reply

