Instant Mold

Posted: January 7, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I recently bought a pack of Blitzen AA models from GW and I was disappointed to find that the front of one gun carriages was completely missing. One quick call to GW’s ever excellent customer service team and I got a new pack of Blitzen models sent to me free of charge. This left me with another two perfectly fine Blitzen models and the miscast one. It seemed a shame not to use all three.. Whilst I’m not capable of sculpting a figure from scratch I’m reasonably handy with greenstuff for conversion work, so I attempted to sculpt a new front end onto the carriage. It looked absolutely dreadful and no you don’t need to see a picture. ūüėČ

Fast forward a couple of weeks and I stumbled across something called Instant Mold (http://www.instantmold.com). Initially I thought it was an interesting idea and then I thought of my miscast Blizten. £1.80 and four days later and I had a strip of Instant Mold in my hands:

It doesn’t smell and it’s very easy to work with but you wouldn’t use it for complicated casting, for simple things it’s ideal. So how does it work? First up you drop the block into very warm water (not far off boiling), let it sit in there for a couple of minutes then carefully remove it with something other than your fingers. Press what you want to make a mold of into the block:

Once it’s hardened (about 5-10 minutes)¬†apply your greenstuff or whatever into the mold:

I made a number of impressions of the front of the  Blitzen into the Instant Mold and made two front ends from it:

Once the green stuff had hardened I cut it to size and fitted it to the front of the miscast Blitzen:

Whilst not perfect, the green stuff mix was a bit off and it shrunk a bit, it’s still¬†a lot¬†better than anything I could’ve sculpted and once painted it should look good enough, it is 6mm after all.

What amused me was how in their promo video they mention that they can’t find anything that will stick to it, they obviously didn’t try slightly damp kitchen paper. That was something I discovered when I put a wet stick onto kitchen paper to dry it a bit before using it. It’ll also be interesting to see just how many times it can actually be used.

Leave a Reply

