But it’s so heavy..!

Posted: January 7, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not intending for this blog to be a mouthpiece for me to complain about various parts of the hobby I don’t get on with but I just can’t help myself today, we’ll blame the weather for this!

I am getting tired of reading that the reason that plastic/resin/finecast is better than metal is because it’s not as heavy to carry. I’m seeing this more and more as being the main excuse and as much as I’m not wanting to get into a Monty Python style moan, along the lines of getting up before we went to bed,  how on earth did we cope years ago? I used to walk four miles carrying my metal WHFB army, play for a few hours then walk four miles home. This was seen as being quite normal for kids bad then! As for adults are people honestly suggesting that they can’t walk from their home to their car with a metal army.. I dispair. Yes, I can see why people who fly with their armies to tournaments would prefer a lighter weight but for everybody else it’s just a bit of a sad excuse; “Hey I’m a weedy nerd! I can only carry very light plastic toy soldiers otherwise I’ll be a sobbing heap after carrying my army case more than two metres.”.

Don’t get me wrong, I own plenty of metal, plastic and resin figures (no Finecast mind), there’s a place for them all in the wargaming hobby, so I don’t have a dog in that fight.

Anyway, moan over, normal service will resume shortly. 😉

Leave a Reply

